Impressive Whale sighting, jumping out of the sea.

Monday 12 September 2016

 

No whales today but a fabulous ride towards Breaksea Island wild life.  Everybody back free till we find those whales!!

Tuesday 30 August 2016

 

We enjoyed humpbacks company today as well as the albatross, seals and sea lions.  The humpback mother and calf spent a long time very close to our boat!

Sunday 21 August 2016

 

Southern Right whales - two came right alongside our boat.  Much delight!

Saturday 20 August 2016

 

Two breaches...one very close - a fleeting flash of humpback - but then...for half an hour, dolphins and birds going crazy; leaping and crashing in calm water between the islands...all around our boat Sail-A-Way.

Tuesday 16 August 2016

 

In company with sever Humpbacks today, we cruised from island to mainland....seals, sea lions, dolphins, bird life...wonderful!

Sunday 14 August 2016

 

Morning tour:  Seals and Southern Right whales

Afternoon tour:  Humpbacks 3 ( or was it 5?) Breaching and 'behaving badly' with each other.  Couldn't be better they said...the passengers, that it!!

Saturday, 13 August 2016

Eating home made scones, jam and cream...watching 5 Humpback whales moving with us.  Breaksea Island seals basking as we sailed by - home 40 minutes late.  Everybody clapped!

Friday 12 August 2016

Wild weather has prevented us going out on several days.  However, today, One Humpback mother and calf in a wonderful viewing...then a great tour of wild coast and seals!

Saturday 6 August 2016

Today 9 Humpbacks - perhaps 70 seals, albatross, Australian sea lions (rare and endangered) but best of all much breaching VERY close to our guests...a GREAT day!  See Facebook, Albany Advertiser and The West Australian newspapers of the 11 August for wonderful pics taken by passenger Nigel Hardy

Friday 5 August, 2016

In the 3.5 hour cruise we had humpbacks near the boat on many occasions.  There were several breaches - wonderful dolphin displays - seals - and fabulous sailing....on again tomorrow.

....oh....and a turtle!

Thursday 4 August 2016

Seventeen Humpback whales passed us today in pods of 3 or 4. Every pod had a juvenile or calf....all moving west with purpose.  Some travelled with us for a while but all were on a mission!

Tuesday 2 August 2016

The whales were so generous....mooching along....sharing the ocean....amazing us with their trusting proximity.  We saw 6 or 7 and many, many seals on Breaksea Island.

Monday 1 August 2016

A beautiful day on the water....1 basking Southern Right and 1 Humpback quietly playing on the surface!!

Saturday 30 July 2016

Two Southern Right whales decided to rub against the side of our boat.  We went straight to them in a lovely sail and saw either 4 or 6 - depending who you ask. The conditions were EXCITING!!  : -)

Thursday 28 July 2016

Two Southern Rights of the four we saw stayed in our company for quite a while.  The mother brought her calf very close to us.  Very thrilling.  The Humpback was too nervous and flighty so we soon left it to its wilderness.

Friday 20 July 2016

Humpbacks breaching - often two at once - Rough seas but lots of action - then a wonderful very close view of a big Southern Right as it checked us out.

Tuesday 19 July 2016

 

In a seagoing lifetime, today was the most impressive and moving display of breaching, tail slapping, surface churning behaviour I have ever experienced with Humpbacks.

Animals of all ages ignored our boat and surrounded us as they celebrated the day!....as did we! :-)

Sunday 17 July 2016

 

Six Humpbacks...slapping the water...breaching...blowing...chasing each other through the lively seas ...right beside our guests...ignoring us as we ALL had fun!!  Check out our Facebook1

Saturday 16 July 2016

 

A pod of eight whales - Humpbacks - (a few calves as well) escorted Sail-A-Way in convoy....each side of us in complete trust...we of them...they of us.  Heart warming!!

Friday 15 July 2016

 

Thirty Humpbacks...Inside....Outside...all excited...on a mission.  Wonderful!!

Wednesday 13 July 2016

 

Two Humpbacks breaching... showing off to the two whale watching boats.  Three humpbacks off Bald Head.  A great day

Monday 11 July 2016

 

Wild weather....wonderful whales...stunning adventure.

Many Humpbacks and some great breaches!

 

Sunday 10 July 2016

 

...a day of stormy winds".....Seven humpbacks -  all high speed rushing...two huge breaches - everybody got invited back to try a calmer day!

Thursday 7 July 2016

 

Having seen two Humpbacks near Discovery Bay Whaling Station, we decided to venture out to the Southern Ocean.  We saw seals, dolphins and at least 11 more humpbacks.  A great adventure was had by all.

Tuesday 5 July 2016

 

We counted 15 Humpbacks today, but it was the breaches that thrilled us!

One whale breached eight times as we watched and counted.  It came very close to us as it showed off!

Monday 4 July 2016

 

Congratulations, the people who came out today - who would have guessed it could be so good.

A pod of twelve humpbacks, so peaceful, so close to us, beside us, below us, and for such a long time.  Joy!

Thursday 30 June 2016

 

Six humpbacks - all at south Bald Head  travelling in pairs - 4 juveniles and 2 adult whales.

Monday 27 June 2016

 

Cruised to Bald Head where we saw twelve humpback whales in groups of 3 or 4 - travelling west.  Much breaching and tail slapping.

Sunday 26 June 2016

 

Two pods of three Humpbacks east of Bald Head.  Seas choppy with big swell.

Saturday 25 June 2016

A distant sighting of 5 Humpbacks...several breaches.  With the strong south wind we had a glorious sail to where the whales were breaching.  We passed several Humpbacks, but it was all too slow.  We loved the high adventure - out where the whales were jumping.

 

Friday 24 June 2016

 

Two Humpbacks near Mistaken Island and Seal Island ....then two more Humpbacks past Bald Head.

Thursday 23 June 2016

 

Many humpbacks very active throughout King George Sound - mainly mid Sound.  Much breaching, tail slapping mating-type behaviour.  Great sightings

Tuesday 21 June 2016

 

Three smaller Humpbacks breaching several times mid Sound - line between Breaksea Island and Bald Head.  Later we saw two larger Humpbacks by Limestone Head

Monday 20 June 2016

 

Many separate sightings today - 2 Humpbacks near Limestone Head, two more mid Sound then 3 or 4 near Bald Head  with much breaching and tail slapping.

Sunday 19 June 2016

 

We had many distant sightings of whales, then managed to catch up with 3 Humpbacks east of Michelmas and Breaksea Islands where we had a long, up-close interaction.

Saturday 18 June 2016

 

A very interactive experience today with 2 Humpbacks near Michelmas Island and then later 2 more by Flat Rock.  The whales were alongside and more inquisitive than usual.

Friday 17 June 2016

 

Today's sightings were in the middle of the Sound where we saw 3 Humpbacks which stayed near us for about an hour.

Thursday 16 June 2016

 

Five humpbacks near Bald Head in the Seal Cove area. 

Wednesday 15 June 2016

 

We caught up with seven whales altogether - 3 mooching around near Mistaken Island and then later, near Bald Head we found another 4 Humpbacks.

11 June 2016

Once more we caught up with 6 humpbacks in two separate pods, closer in the Sound, between Mistaken Island and the Whaling Station Museum.  Great sightings

Wednesday 8th June 2016

 

Six humpbacks in 2 pods.  The second pod had a battle raging with whales throwing themselves into the air, 40 metres from us for an hour! Spectacular!

Monday 6 June 2016

 

A fabulous sail - saw 3 Humpbacks - including a mother and calf.  A great view of seals and dolphins

Sunday 29 May 2016

Fine and mild conditions saw us out near Breaksea Island.  While watching the seals and sea lions lazing on the sunny rocks, a very kind fisherman pulled his boat alongside and told us of whales seen on the other side of the island.  Off we went, and we weren't disappointed  3 whales which turned out to be a mother Minke whale with a juvenile and a calf.  Also were lucky enough to see 2 juvenile Humpbacks.  Several dolphins rocked up to play with the whales! Great day! 

Thursday, 26 May 2016

First tour for the 2016 season. We spotted several whales long way away but they proved to be elusive and difficult to get closer to.  The sail was enjoyable in overcast but pleasant conditions. 

Scenic and Whale Watching Cruises